(B)On Fire

8 Nov

I’m celebrating Bonfire Night a little later this year with a party at my friends’ house tomorrow night.  I’ve been wanting to do a fire themed mani since the Hunger Games came out last year and a late bonfire party is just the excuse I needed!

I started with a white base coat to make the colours really stand out and then created a gradient using yellow, orange and red polishes.  I wish I’d taken a picture at this stage as it was such a pretty gradient!  I then used a small nail art brush and black polish to freehand the black silhouette flames.

Overall I’m pretty pleased with these, they’re definitely eye catching!!  I think next time I do a fire mani I will reverse the look with a black background and gradient flames.

Polishes used:

  • w7 – White
  • Barry M – Yellow
  • Barry M Gelly – Mango
  • Nails Inc – St James
  • Konad – Pearl Black
4 Responses to “(B)On Fire”

  1. Catherine Dream November 8, 2013 at 3:46 pm #

    Lovely.
    You should so wear it to the cinema when Catching Fire comes out on the 22nd : )
    I preferred the books, but the art of cinema is so much more in your face visual, so these nails are perfect, so pretty and bright.

    • lemmingsundae November 8, 2013 at 3:50 pm #

      Thanks! I loved the books, and I thought the first film didn’t do a bad job – usually films never do the books justice! I will definitely do a Catching Fire mani when I go and see it in a couple of weeks!

      • Catherine Dream November 8, 2013 at 4:00 pm #

        Yay! Post the pic, too (of course :)))
        Yeah, I think it was that good, because it was sort of POV, shaky camera too, very documentary style, not too perfect. But books are always better, I agree.

  2. Carly Jones November 13, 2013 at 12:25 am #

    Looking forward to the reverse. Also looking forward to the film. I agree the books are better but the film did a good job. Loved Lenny Kravitz as Cinna. Didn’t know he was in it and nearly squealed in the cinema when saw him as the character is perfect for him. Excited!

Leave a Reply

