Day 30 – Favourite Nail Art Technique

17 Aug

These ones are also what I’m wearing to a wedding we’re going to this weekend.  I think two of my favourite techniques involve dotting tools and striping tape so I combined the two to make flowers over stripey, diagonal French tips.

I started with my base colour and once that had dried taped off triangles at the tips and painted over with the Barry M green. I let that dry overnight then used striping tape and the Models Own green to create stripes over the tips.  Following more drying time I used a small dotting tool and a cocktail stick to create the flowers with white and then gold for the centre.

image

Without flash


image

With flash

These took quite a while, not because they were difficult to do but I wanted to make sure I let each stage dry thoroughly – I’m trying to be more patient with my nail art to stop smudging etc.

I think they look really pretty 🙂

Polishes used
Revlon Cala Lily (base coat)
Barry M Emerald Green (stripes)
Models Own Peacock Green (stripes)
W7 White (flowers)
Nails Inc Lanesborough Place (centre of flowers)

7 Responses to “Day 30 – Favourite Nail Art Technique”

  1. tattylou84 August 17, 2013 at 3:00 pm #

    These are sooo gorgeous!

    • lemmingsundae August 18, 2013 at 1:01 am #

      Thank you 🙂 I really love these ones, I’ll be so upset when I take them off!

  2. Carly Jones August 19, 2013 at 7:05 am #

    Beautiful! Loving that your nails took longer to get ready than I did! X

  3. Catherine Dream October 17, 2013 at 4:19 am #

    Oh gosh, what is it with you and flowers?! I really don’t like them and you make me like your flowery manis! Witch! 😛 : )
    Reeeeeeally pretty.

    • lemmingsundae October 17, 2013 at 9:07 am #

      Ha! I once said ‘I hate flowers’….then a did a flower mani and had to confess I kinda loved it, hooked ever since!

      • Catherine Dream October 17, 2013 at 10:45 am #

        Hehe, I recently stamped an orchid, and sooooorta maybe liked it a little bit? Oh my gosh, I’m being brainwashed by my pretty nails…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dotty for Flowers | Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails! - September 17, 2013

    […] started this one I had something completely different in my mind with the same sort of flowers from these nails that I wore to a wedding recently, but that’s not what ended up on my nails and I […]

Leave a Reply

