Water-mess

9 May

Water marbling is a pain!!  I haven’t done any for ages and with Spring and the sunny weather finally showing it’s face I decided to give it a bash again with some summery shades.  It was a bit of a disaster!  My house was quite cold whilst I was doing this so the water temp meant that the polish set pretty quickly.  I’d say about 50% of my nails look okay whilst I want to hide the others with embarrassment

I started with a base coat of lime green, which is a lovely colour and very spring like – my bottle of this is very old now (I think it was one of the first polishes I ever bought) so it’s gone a bit gloopy and I really need to get some thinner in it.

20130506_192040

I then taped off my nails (I use electrical tape as it bends nicely round the fingers) and after preparing my water marbling using lime green, sunstone and cyan blue dipped the nails and let the mess ensue!

I’m definitely going to do another water marble with these colours and just make sure my water is the right temperature as I really like the nails that worked out okay!!  I also think I need to concentrate on getting a consistent pattern across all nails with this one – some water marbles look fine without but I think it adds to the whole messiness that they don’t match.

What do you think?  Any water marbling disasters to share?

Polishes used:

  • Barry M – Lime Green
  • Barry M – Cyan Blue
  • W7 – Sunstone
  • Basecoat & Topcoat – Sally Hansen Double Duty
7 Responses to “Water-mess”

  1. helenhandbag May 9, 2013 at 12:36 pm #

    Liking it! Haven’t tried water marbling yet, it’s on the to-do list. Good idea to use electrical tape

    • lemmingsundae May 9, 2013 at 12:42 pm #

      Thank you 😀 Water marbling isn’t too bad once you’ve had a few goes at it…but it’s very messy the first few times you try!! It’s also extremely hit and miss as to whether it’ll actually work!

      • helenhandbag May 9, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

        Yeah I guess my first blog about it will be to show some epic fails haha 🙂

      • lemmingsundae May 9, 2013 at 5:08 pm #

        Looking forward to seeing your efforts!

  2. Jeanette @ "Don't Wear That, Mom!" May 9, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

    I plan to try water marbling for the first time this weekend (maybe). Good call on the electrical tape!

    • lemmingsundae May 9, 2013 at 5:08 pm #

      Good luck!! Hope it works out! I look forward to a blog post about your attempt!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. First attempt to make the marbling | Just Another Nail Blog - June 6, 2013

    […] Water-mess […]

Leave a Reply

