Sexy Peacock!

19 Apr

Okay, so let me explain the title of my post first and you’ll realise I’m not actually stark raving bonkers, I used two polishes to create this look – Essie Sexy and Models Own Peacock, so clearly Sexy Peacock is an appropriate title for this post!  If I had to pick a favourite nail polish on the spot I think I would choose Essie Sexy, it’s an absolutely gorgeous purple with a slight shimmer to it, Models Own Peacock is also a beautiful polish and this is the first time I’ve used it – the fact that I keep finding bottles of polish unopened suggests I may have too many but that still doesn’t stop me ordering more!

I haven’t done a gradient for ages and these two polishes are perfect peacock feather colours so I knew they’d work well together.  I applied a coat of Peacock first and once that had dried I sponged on Sexy & Peacock to form my gradient using this tutorial from one of the nail blogs I follow.  This is the first time I’ve tried a gradient this way and it was certainly the most effective one I’ve done to date so I’ll definitely be using this method in the future.

I’m in LOVE with these nails, I’ve had them on for four days now and they’re hardly showing any tip wear – I have to stop myself just looking at my nails they’re that beautiful (even if I do say so myself!).

8 Responses to “Sexy Peacock!”

  1. theoxfordowl April 19, 2013 at 8:50 am #

    Wow, these colours are stunning together!!

    • lemmingsundae April 19, 2013 at 9:02 am #

      Thank you! I was so happy with how these turned out 😀

      • theoxfordowl April 19, 2013 at 9:04 am #

        It looks so easy, too! I saw that tutorial a while ago, but thought it looked quite messy – how did you find it? That last picture has convinced me I need both these polishes… 😛

      • lemmingsundae April 19, 2013 at 9:06 am #

        It really wasn’t too bad, it cleaned up really easily with a cotton bud and a little polish remover as the mess round the edge of the nail is only lightly sponged on. Everyone needs these two polishes in their life!

  2. pocketmoneypolishes May 1, 2013 at 10:13 pm #

    TOO PRETTY!!! Quick question: which gradient is better – dark to light or light to dark? I have some cunning plans in the works but just cannot decide which way works best.

    • lemmingsundae May 1, 2013 at 10:16 pm #

      Thank you 🙂 I always prefer a light to dark, am always a bit worried that the colours will get lost in dark to light.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Stripey Peacock | Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails! - May 7, 2013

    […] homage to my earlier blog post Sexy Peacock, I now bring you Stripey Peacock!  I have more than one polish in my collection by the name of […]

  2. Gilded Peacock | Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails! - March 12, 2014

    […] back when I first started blogging I did a (in my opinion) gorgeous gradient using two of my favourite polishes – Sexy by Essie and Peacock by Models Own.  It’s […]

Leave a Reply

