News Just In!

13 Apr

So I had a go at trying to liven up my newspaper mani that I posted yesterday.  I tried a bit of stamping at first but for some reason it just didn’t want to work today, the rubber stamp wouldn’t pick up any of the polish from the plates that I wanted to use and the only one that would work was this butterfly design:

IMAG0525

I gave up in the end and decided to partially cover up the print with a contrasting colour, using a Barry M Gelly in Watermelon.  I randomly taped off bits of my nail using striping tape, which requires far too much patience to lay on the nail, and then painted over with the Watermelon and removed the tape whilst still wet for a crisp clean line.

I quite like the effect and definitely prefer it to just the newspaper print so it should last me a couple of days now without me looking at my nails in horror!   This is only the second time I’ve really tried to use striping tape for a design so I think I’ll be playing about with it a bit more in the future.

3 Responses to “News Just In!”

  1. 2chicgurls April 18, 2013 at 12:25 pm #

    Such a cool style! Looks awesome 🙂
    XOXO
    2chicgurls
    http://www.2chicgurls.com

  2. Catherine Dream October 17, 2013 at 11:11 am #

    Oh gosh, I actually really liked the random butterflies sitting on a newspaper…

Leave a Reply

