Puzzled!

11 Apr

Today I bring you my first proper post with real nail art!  I didn’t really know what I wanted to do when I started these, as I often do I just picked a couple of colours that I wanted to use and worked out the finer details as I started painting!!  The colours I used were China Glaze ‘Stone Cold’ from the Hunger Games collection, I LOVE this nail polish – it applies almost perfectly with one coat and dries to a gorgeous matte finish.  I want to use it ALL the time.  I also used Barry M grey for my accent nails on my thumb and ring finger.

I started by painting my nails with a base coat (Sally Hansen Double Duty), then applied my colours – et voila:

IMAG0504

I then taped* sections off on my accent nails to make squares and painted these with the contrasting colour.  Once done I added small dots to the edge of each square using both colours and a dotting tool* to make them look like jigsaw pieces.

I totally love this manicure and will definitely be doing it again with other colours as it was so simple and quick to do.

As an aside – I really need to work on my lighting and camera skills but I’m sure that’ll improve with time!

*I plan to talk more about tape manicures in a future post as well as tools/brushes so keep your eyes peeled!!

9 Responses to “Puzzled!”

  1. Kareen April 11, 2013 at 8:38 pm #

    Really fantastic idea! I’ve left my nails alone for a few weeks now because they’re so weak and split easily. Any suggestions for splitting nails?

    • lemmingsundae April 12, 2013 at 8:40 am #

      Thank you! I sometimes get the same problem with splitting nails and I haven’t come across any solution yet either, I just try to use strengthening base coats and nail polish removers for brittle nails, combined with using a good hand and nail cream and that seems to keep it at bay!

      • Kareen April 12, 2013 at 10:12 am #

        I’ve finally resorted to purchasing a formaldehyde strengthener and I’ll be using that soon, so I hope I’ll see positive results.

      • lemmingsundae April 12, 2013 at 10:16 am #

        Fingers crossed! Let me know if it works!

      • Kareen April 12, 2013 at 10:17 am #

        Either way, I’ll definitely be blogging about my finger nail woes 😉

  2. Must Have Boxes April 12, 2013 at 12:02 am #

    This design is gorgeous! I love the grey and black color combo.

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

  3. Vicki Jellett April 12, 2013 at 8:16 pm #

    For splitting nails, cannot recommend highly enough OPI Nail Envy. It really is usper-epic-awesome!

    • lemmingsundae April 12, 2013 at 9:38 pm #

      Oooh, thanks Vicki – will pick a bottle up next time I do a nail polish order 😀

Leave a Reply

